SSC Exam Pattern

Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts the Combined Graduate Level Examination (CGL) to recruit candidates for various Grade B posts under Government of India. SSC- CGL is one of the most sought after examination in the country.  A job after clearing the exam gives distinctive emoluments, perks, honour and respect. The SSC CGL exam is conducted via four rounds:
  • Tier I : Online Examination- Objective Type- 200 Marks
  • Tier II : Online Examination- Objective Type- 200 Marks for every paper
  • Tier III : Written Examination- Descriptive Type- 100 Marks
  • Tier IV : Computer Proficiency Test/ Data Entry Skill Test/ Document Verification – (Wherever Applicable)
In order to give a boost to your SSC CGL preparation and ace your performance in the exam, it is very crucial to have a detailed knowledge of SSC CGL Exam Pattern.
SSC CGL Exam Pattern- Tier I:
SectionsTotal QuestionsTotal MarksDuration
Quantitative Aptitude255060 Minutes
English Comprehension2550
General Awareness2550
General Intelligence and Reasoning2550
  • For every wrong answer, there is a negative marking of 0.50 marks
  • The total time allotted for Visually Handicapped Candidates is 100 minutes.
SSC CGL Exam Pattern- Tier II:
Subjects/ PapersTotal QuestionsTotal MarksDuration
Quantitative Ability1002002 Hours
English Language and Comprehension200200
General Studies (Economics and Finance)100200
  • Paper- 1 (Quantitative Ability) and Paper -2 (English Language and Comprehension) are compulsory to clear for all the posts, whereas Paper -3 (Statistics) is only for the post of “Statistical Investigator Gr. II” and “Compiler” and Paper- 4 is meant only for the post of “Assistant Audit Officer”.
  • The total time allotted for visually handicapped Candidates is 2 hours 40 minutes.
  • The negative marking for every wrong answer varies in terms of papers. Paper-1, Paper- 3 and Paper- 4 have a penalty of 0.50 marks and Paper- 2 has a penalty of 0.25 marks.
SSC CGL Exam Pattern - Tier III:
  • Tier III Level Examination is descriptive in nature and is conducted offline, i.e. pen- paper mode.
  • This paper includes Letter Writing, Application Writing, Essay Writing, Precis Writing, etc.
  • The total marks allotted are 100 and time duration is 60 minutes.
  • For Visually Handicapped candidates, the exam duration is 80 minutes.
SSC CGL Exam Pattern Tier IV:
  • This round tests a candidate’s ability in Computer Proficiency via a test. There may also be questions on document verification or questions related to a specific skill set depending on a specific profile/post.
  • This level is not compulsory for all posts and any question type in the exam pattern may vary depending upon the post one applies for.